You might have noticed that when you're creating new transactions, they appear in your account register as already cleared. If you don't like this, this behavior can be changed. Please note that it only applies to transactions that you are creating manually - it does not apply to imported transactions (via Online Banking or manual file import).
To access this setting, you need to edit the account in question. You will see an Auto-clear transactions check box. If it's checked, all manually created transactions are cleared automatically. If you deselect this, new transactions will remain pending until you clear them manually.
Remember - this setting only works for transactions created manually -- it is not currently possible to change the behavior of imported transactions (via Online Banking or manual import).